CARVING PUMPKINS

Standard

CARVING PUMPKINS

I let someone in my head once
I was her little jack-o-lantern
She reached in past pulpy memories
And pulled out the slimy parts
To make room for her
To slide in and dance with my thoughts
And squish through what was left of me.

She wanted to fix me
To pry out the bad things
And leave hollow, empty things.

But I’m not empty.
Now she’s in here with me
Where she can sing and scream
And look out through my milk-grey eyes
Sometimes she tries to claw out of the lonely places
But I need her.

She is my light
Warm and flickering
Dripping out through my rotting October smile.

Leave a Reply

