SOUTHERNISMS

Standard

I grew up in a small town in Virginia. When I went to college and took a poetry class, we read a poem about someone sitting on the porch, sipping sweet tea out of a quart jar. We spent the entire class discussing the symbolism of using a quart jar instead of a glass and what statement that was making about Southerners.

I listened to all the stuff they came up with and shook my head. Then the teacher called on me (I guess expecting me to come up with some great epiphany), asking about the deep meaning behind using a jar instead of a glass and what that meant about being Southern.

I happened to be the only Southerner in the class.

I just shrugged and said, “We do it because it holds more.”

The professor wasn’t amused, but sometimes a quart jar really is just a quart jar.

2 responses »

  1. I love it.

    Reminds me of that old tale about the woman who cooked pot roast by trimming off one inch of meat on one end of the roast every time. When her daughter asked her why, she said it was Grandma’s secret recipe and you don’t mess with perfection.

    When the little girl went to her grandmother about it, the old lady said simply, “I had a small roasting pan.”

Leave a Reply

